Fact Sheet

  • Owned by De Wildt Solar (RF) Pty Ltd: shareholders include African Infrastructure Investment Managers (AIIM, a member of Old Mutual Alternative Investments) through its IDEAS Fund, Reatile Solar Power (RF) (Pty) Ltd, Phakwe Solar (RF) (Pty) Ltd, AREP (African Rainbow Energy and Power) and Cicada Community Trust.
  • The solar field comprises 169 140 solar modules of 340 Wpk (at STC), and has an installed capacity of 50 MW.
  • It is situated in the Madibeng Local Municipality, close to the town of Brits in the North West Province, and spans 185 hectares.
  • Land: Situated on portion 27, 28 and the remainder of portion 15 of the Farm Schietfontein, within the Madibeng Local Municipality.
  • De Wildt Solar received Environmental Authorisation in January 2017.
  • Construction of the solar field commenced in March 2019.
  • Commercial Operation Date was achieved in January 2021.
  • Engineering, Procurement and Construction Contractor: Ingweguard Pty Ltd.
  • Operations & Maintenance Contractor: Ingwepath Pty Ltd.
  • The solar field is connected to the Eskom Zolograph switching station. It generates approximately 50MW of clean, renewable energy to the national grid, addressing the ongoing and increasing need for electricity in South Africa.
  • The solar field produces enough green electricity to supply approximately 56 000 medium-sized South African homes, and in so doing avoids approximately 118 000 tonnes of carbon emissions each year when compared to traditional fossil fuel power fields.
  • De Wildt Solar positively impacts the communities in the Madibeng Local Municipal area, including Brits, Mmakau, Mothotlung, Lethlabile, Garankwa and surrounding areas within a 50km radius.

Contact us

National Enquiries

021 670 1400


2nd Floor, Fernwood House, The Oval, 1 Oakdale Road,
Newlands, Cape Town, 7700
Claremont, 7735

Contact Us